Lesley Aine McKeown

American Studio Art Jewelry

I was fortunate, I was born in to a family of artists.  My earliest memories are of my mother painting, cooking and gardening.  I watched my father make jewelry at a bench in our family room.  Sunlit afternoons picking beans and tomatoes in my grandmother's garden, transforming this bounty into food.  I was offered the beauty of color, smell, textures and shape.   All around were the gestures of creativity.

The artists is not a simple path, as with any  discipline hard work and focus have taught me the most.  But it is just now, as I approach my sixth decade, I realize I am just beginning to understand that I know nothing.  And I yearn.

Each day is a joy, an exploration of emotion, the ephemeral  that may just transform a creation.   I live for that trembling glimpse over the precipice of a new piece.  This sustains me, drives the work and feeds my soul.

 


 

 





my father 1966





Museum Affiliations / Exhibits


 Museum of Craft & Folk Art / San Francisco, California

 New York State Museum / Albany, New York

 Denver Art Museum / Denver, Colorado

 Phoenix Art Museum / Phoenix, Arizona

 Santa Barbara Art Museum / Santa Barbara, California

 Milicent Rogers Museum / Taos, New Mexico

 Houston Center for Contemporary Craft / Houston, Texas

 Scottsdale Center for the Arts / Scottsdale, Arizona

 Phoenix Modern Art Museum / Phoenix, Arizona

 Coconino Center for the Arts / Flagstaff, Arizona

 Phippen Museum / Prescott, Arizona 


Selected Exhibitions and Awards

Best of Show - High Design Jewelry - ACRE, Las Vegas 2015 

Sedona Jewelers Exhibition / Lanning Gallery, Sedona, AZ 

One-Woman Show / Art of the West / Encinitas, CA

Women Artists of the West / Sedona Arts Center, Sedona, AZ 

Trading Places Exhibition / Taos, NM 

Winter Arts Exhibition / Broderick Castle / Isle of Arran, Scotland, U.K. 

Trappings of the American West / Coconino Center for the Arts, Flagstaff, AZ (1999-2009 

Trappings of the American West / Phoenix Sky Harbor Museum, Phoenix, AZ

Trappings of the American West 2006 / Northern Arizona Museum, Flagstaff, AZ 

Art of the American West / Houston Contemporary Craft Museum, Houston, TX

Coconino Center for the Arts / 2010 It's Elemental Exhibition /Flagstaff, AZ 


Galleries

ARIZONA

Mosiac - Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport - Terminal 4 - Mosaic Fine Art & Craft Gallery

Phippen Museum / Prescott, AZ  www.phippenartmuseum.org

Van Gogh's Ear / Prescott, AZ www.vgegallery.com 

Eisenart  Innovations / Tlaquepaque Village / Sedona, AZ

Environmental Realists/ Tlaquepaque Village / Sedona, AZ (Artifacts Collection) www.environmentalrealists.com

Raku Gallery / Jerome, AZ www.rakugallery.com 

Scottsdale Center for the Arts / Scottsdale, AZ  www.scottsdaleperformingarts.org

Phoenix Art Museum / Phoenix, AZ  www.www.phxart.org

Limited Additions / Tucson, AZ   www.limitedadditionstucson.com

Red Geranium / Cottonwood, AZ www.redgeraniumboutique.com

CALIFORNIA 

Mendocino Art Center - www.mendocinoartcenter

Artfully Adorned / Laguna Hills, CA

Rose's Gift Gallery / San Francisco , CA  

Meyer Bunje / Burlingame, CA

Santa Barbara Bontanic Garden / Santa Barbara, CA www.sbbg.org 

Copperwood Artware / Orange, CA  www.copperwoodartware.com 

Fine Crafts Studios on the Park / Paso Robles, CA www.finecraftstudio.com

Fine Eye Gallery - Sutter Creek, CA  www.fineeye.com

Zuma / Point Reyes, CA

Bowden Design / Healdsburg, CA

La Galleria / Truckee, CA www.lagalleriatruckee.com

COLORADO 

Denver Art Museum Shop / Denver, CO 

Gibson's at the Broadmoor / Colorado Spring, CO  

Main Paige / Grand Junction, CO  www.mainpaige.com

Earthen Vessel Gallery / Durango, CO www.earthenvessel.com 

Earth Spirit - Denver International Terminal, Denver, CO http://www.avilaretail.com/our-brands/earth-spirit/

FLORIDA

Wild Child Art Gallery, Matlacha, FL  http://www.wildchildartgallery.com

NORTH CAROLINA 

Gaia / Winston-Salem, NC www.shopgaia.com

Carolina Creations / New Bern, NC www.carolinacreations.com

NEW MEXICO 

Andean Software / Taos, NM www.andeansoftware.com

Fat Finch / Albuquerque, MN  www.fatfinch.com

Taos Blue / Taos, NM

Ran La Roca / Lincoln, NM Ran la Roca Glass 

NEVADA 

Nevada Art Museum / Reno, NV  www.nevadaart.org 

NEW YORK 

The Jewelbox / Ithaca, NY www.ithacajewelbox.com

Eureka Crafts / Syracuse, NY www.eurekacrafts.com

Iriniri - Warwick, NY http://www.iriniridesigns.com/

MARYLAND

Fire & Ice - Baltimore International Airport, Balitmore, MD  http://www.fireandice.com/

OREGON

The Websters / Ashland, OR www.yarnatwebsters.com

Earthworks Gallery / Yachats, OR

Dragonfire Gallery / Cannon Beach, OR  www.dragonfirestudio.com

Passionflower / Eugene, OR www.passionflowerdesign.com 

Trillium / Wheeler, OR www.trilliumgalleryonline.com 

PENNSYLVANNIA 

Topeo / New Hope, PA www.topeo.com

TEXAS 

Multiplicity / Katy, TX  www.multiplicity.com 

VIRGINIA 

Objects / Irvington, VA  http://objects-of-art.net/home.html 

WASHINGTON 

Earthenworks / Port Townsend, WA  www.earthenworksgallery.com

Childhood's End / Olympia, WA  www.childhoods-end-gallery.com 

Artisan's Designs Jewelry & Gallery, White Salmon, WA www.artisansdesigns.com